Research and Infrastructure Support (RISE)

We support researchers in the humanities and social sciences at the University of Basel in the conception of computer-based research, the creation, analysis and user-oriented presentation of digital data, as well as in sustainable and open methods of data dissemination.

Our team is the first point of contact for the conception of projects working with digital methods and data. We provide support for setting up data management plans, and we pilote, plan and accompany processes of data and software development, or assist in finding suitable partners for such tasks.

The RISE team has a portfolio of experience with editions, corpora and other data types from the humanities and social sciences. It has expertise in the areas of data modelling and visualisation, digitisation, data refinement (markup, transcription, annotation, geo referencing etc.), metadata (standards, formats, enrichment), databases and repositories, real-time and network analyses, quantitative analysis for text, image, audio and video, standardisation, archiving, citation and distribution. We provide support in the FAIRification of research data (making them Findable, Accessible, Interoperable and Reusable) and in their linkage and sustainable integration into research data infrastructures.

We have officially started our work September 1st, 2021. Our team will be complete in February 2022.

Aussenansicht Eingangsbereich Spalenberg 65

Research and Infrastructure Support (RISE)

Contact: rise@unibas.ch
Phone: +41 61 207 65 70
Office: 04.004 and 04.006 (4th floor)
Spalenberg 65
4051 Basel

Research and Infrastructure Support (RISE)

Wir unterstützen Forscherinnen und Forscher in den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften an der Universität Basel bei Fragen der Konzeption computergestützter Forschung, der Herstellung, Analyse und nutzungsorientierten Darstellung von digitalen Daten, sowie deren nachhaltiger und offener Verfügbarmachung.

Unser Team ist die erste Anlaufstelle für die Konzeption von Projekten, die mit digitalen Methoden und Daten arbeiten. Wir leisten Unterstützung bei der Erstellung von Datenmanagementplänen, und wir pilotieren, planen und begleiten Prozesse zur Datenerschliessung und Softwareentwicklung oder stellen Kontakt zu geeigneten Partnern für solche Aufgaben her.

Das RISE-Team hat vielfältige Erfahrung mit Editionen, Korpora und anderen Datentypen aus den Geistes- und Sozialwissenschaften. Es verfügt über Expertise in den Bereichen Datenmodellierung und -visualisierung, Digitalisierung, Erschliessung (Textauszeichnung, Transkription, Annotation, Georeferenzierung etc.), Metadaten (Standards, Formate, Anreicherungen), Datenbanken und Repositorien, Echtzeitdaten-Auswertung und Netzwerkanalysen, quantitativen Datenanalysen zu Text, Bild, Audio und Video, Standardisierung, Archivierung, Zitation und Distribution. Wir unterstützen bei der Aufbereitung von Forschungsdaten nach den FAIR-Prinzipien (Findability, Accessibility, Interoperability, Reuse) und bei der Vernetzung und nachhaltigen Integration von Daten in Forschungsdateninfrastrukturen.

Seit dem 1. September 2021 haben wir unsere Arbeit offiziell aufgenommen. Zum Februar 2022 wird unser fünfköpfiges Team komplett sein.

Aussenansicht Eingangsbereich Spalenberg 65

Research and Infrastructure Support (RISE)

Kontakt: rise@unibas.ch
Tel.: +41 61 207 65 70
Büros: 04.004 und 04.006 (4. Stock)
Spalenberg 65
4051 Basel